1.16.14 The Birth of a BLOG

Just Me

Just Me

The Birth of a BLOG

“Congratulations! You are the mother of a big baby BLOG!” Believe it or not, as sad as it is, I actually imagined these words in my head as I hit the word, “publish,” on my new blog site. Sitting beside my liquid-courage (a giant polka-dot mug of cappuccino) I decided to finally click this thing into digital delivery!

I think BLOG is a bit of an odd word to be honest, so, as a writer I’d like to instead treat it as my own, personal acronym. In my small world, BLOG stands for: Being Loved On Grace, because grace is truly the only reason I have so many people and places, memories and mistakes I truly love. I am not writing this blog because my life is particularly exceptional, but rather because I feel like, if we do it right, we can live lives…even ordinary ones, exceptionally.

Why now? Might be a question flitting across all of my (so far non-existent readers’ minds) but I ask…Why not then? Why not before? Why did it take me so long to realize that I do, in fact, always have something to say? A mother and teacher and writer and wife…speaking literally IS my life! (I won’t, however, make the mistake of thinking that being heard necessarily is!) And yet, here I sit, bright-eyed and ready to have a grand conversation because I believe that there are others who just want a dose of insight/humor or inspiration mixed with the reality of living a life that can sometimes be a little less than shiny.

People often ask me why I’m so happy, or why I can’t stop smiling. The truth is…I can. And I do. And there are times I (like any normal-ish human on the planet) find it really difficult to let go of whatever it was that stole my joy for the day, but then I remember no one can steal my grace…and tomorrow will come with another host of moments to smile about.

John Lennon once said, “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
And that…my new cyber friends, is the quote of the day…the thought I leave you to ponder as you decide what you have to be smiling for today. (Feel free to steal from yesterday if today is impossible…I’ve been there).

Literarily yours,
Elle Harris

Leave a Reply

