2.24.14 Not Me

IMG_0398

 

Have you ever wanted to try something, do something, wear something or go somewhere that was outside of your, usual choices? You may have liked it, really wanted it even, but somehow you knew you just couldn’t possibly because it, “wasn’t you.” I can’t tell you the amount of times this very thought used to hold me back. I couldn’t wear my hair that light or my nails that dark. I never ate Mexican because it was too spicy and I dressed in clothing as preppy as a schoolteacher could be. Until … now there is a great word.

 
I’ll say it again, until! Until I grew up enough to realize that I could grow beyond, whatever limits I had set on myself. George Eliot once said, “It’s never to late to be what you might have been.” Now that is an amazing quote, in and of itself, but I think it is more amazing when you realize that George Eliot is actually the pen name of a woman named, Mary Anne Evans. One of the leading writers of the British Victorian era! She had very conservative beginnings where many people (including her) never expected she would accomplish what she was able to. And she’s not all!

 
Julia Child didn’t even learn to cook until she moved to Paris for her husband’s job when she was in her forties. Ray Kroc, founder of McDonald’s was still only a milk-shake salesman at fifty-two. Most of Benjamin Franklin’s impressive inventions were in his mid to late forties. Henry Ford didn’t create the first car assembly line until he was sixty. Vera Wang started as an ice skater, moved on to writing and editing for Vogue Magazine but didn’t really make it big, until she began designing wedding dresses at forty. Finally, Amy Pohler and Tina Fey, both SNL comedians, didn’t hit the peak of their comedic careers until between their thirties and forties! How many times do you think these great people told themselves, “I can’t do this, it’s just not me,” in their lives? How often did they doubt what they were capable of as their youth passed them by? We need to realize that time past doesn’t mean opportunity missed.

 
The point is, that finding personal success is hard enough without us hiding behind veiled excuses of comments like, “It’s just not me,” or “I could never do something like that.” It’s like the people who say they can’t change because it’s, “just the way they are.” Let me tell you something–you are who you decide to be. You are a choice waiting to be made and a grand decision waiting to be told. You are as exciting, compelling and important as you want to become, but you need to make a conscious effort to let yourself get there.

 
So, my hair is lighter, my nail polish is darker. I have a tattoo (of a Bible verse, no worries) and dress somewhere between high heels and converse depending on my mood. Thanks to my husband I love Mexican food and thanks to facing my fears I am here, writing–to you. My own audience. Who’d have thought? Certainly not me, and yet, here I am.

 
What about you? Who have you been waiting to become, and what are you waiting for? Byron Katie brilliantly said, “You are the one you’ve been waiting for.” There is no one better qualified to give yourself permission to be who you want to be than you. So do it already. Rewrite your definition, buy that outfit, take that trip, go for that job. It’s you if you wear it, taste it, try it or want it. So stop being shy and introduce yourself to the one and only version of you you’ve been waiting a lifetime to meet; remember–there is no such thing as too late.

 
Literarily yours,

 
Elle

3 thoughts on “2.24.14 Not Me

  1. Dearest Elle,
    I love reading your thoughts and absolutely adore how you communicate them to us fans and friends. I want to sincerely thank you and look so forward to reading more from you!
    Sincerely
    Roxane

  2. So well stated, Elle, I think we need to bottle your gift of encouragement and sprinkle it on this confused and troubled world.

Leave a Reply

