4.1.14 A Day in Rewind

IMG_1712
So I am utterly and completely exhausted in every physical, emotional and spiritual way a person can be. Okay … that was a bit of an overstatement, but I’m in a mood to over-state! Do you ever feel like throwing yourself a bit of a pity party? I hope you do because I refuse to believe I’m the only one out there looking for a virtual hug–a cyber “pat-on-the-back,” that your killer-day did not, in fact, succeed in its attempt to kill you! According to Soren Kierkegaard, “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” So, in my semi-delirious state I have the brilliant idea to get you to empathize with me in rewind.

11:34 p.m. – typing my blog while laying on the floor because my back and neck are wicked-stiff from correcting 100 research papers in four days

Ding…NEW EMAIL

10:15 p.m. – distracted from report card deadline when son gets up in his sleep crying that he, “just wants to play right now”

9:30 p.m. – online searching whether or not MLA requires a comma before the parenthetical citation so I don’t mis-correct a paper

8:15 p.m. – listening to the fifth major tantrum of my over-tired daughter

Ding…NEW EMAIL

7:45 p.m. – listening to the fourth major tantrum of my over-tired daughter

7:30 p.m. – listening to the third major tantrum … I wish it was déjà vu, but sadly, it happened

7:00 p.m. – freezing in forty degrees watching my son play his first Spring soccer practice (Why do I live here?)

6:30 p.m. – genius idea of grading research papers outside, on the wet grass, with the wind gusting at about 20mph

Ding…NEW EMAIL

6:01 p.m. – one minute late for first soccer practice of the season while also getting stepped on by my son’s impatient cleat-laced foot

5:45 p.m. – racing out of my daughter’s ballet practice with a tu-tu in one hand and a soccer ball in the next

4:45 p.m. – listening to the second major tantrum of my over-tired daughter as she vehemently refuses to eat the hot dog she ordered, while simultaneously yanking up her ballet tights

Ding…NEW EMAIL

4:00 p.m. – racing through the drive-through for a nutritious hot dog for my kids

3:35 p.m. – getting the kids from school while nearly getting taken out by the overzealous parade of minivans in the pick-up line (BTW: I do not own a minivan)

2:00 p.m. – student decided to April Fool me by loading the inside of my laptop with sticky-notes

Ding…NEW EMAIL

1:45 p.m. – germ-a-phobic student gets too wild with the hand sanitizer and I end up with a glop of it on my leggings

12:00 p.m. – conversation with students about WHY they have to capitalize the word, “I” even when they don’t, “feel like it”

11:30 a.m. – “Can you quick edit my paper?”

Ding…NEW EMAIL

11:00 a.m. – “Can I come in for help at recess?”

10:30 a.m. – “I don’t get it Mrs. H.”

10:15 a.m. – “Why can’t we get paid if we’re stuck here all day like you teachers? We’re here just as long.”

9:00 a.m. – meeting #2

Ding…NEW EMAIL

8:30 a.m. – meeting #1

7:45 a.m. – Check email…fifteen new messages

6:45 a.m. – realized the man in the car beside me was watching me sing

6:30 a.m. – realized I forgot my makeup bag

6:15 a.m. – Really hair? You’re going to do that today?

6:00 a.m. – Overslept, but how is that possible when I only went to bed five hours ago?

Ding…NEW EMAIL

5:45 a.m. – dog barked

And so, you’ve watched my day in rewind. Believe it or not, it wasn’t a bad day, it was just, A day. A day that I am grateful for, and a day I couldn’t live another minute in. Still, I appreciate the confetti of caring your reading added to my parade of pity. I can handle life when I know I’m not alone! In the words of the grandmother from a family favorite movie, The Croods, I can say, “I’m still alive!” but only just! Hope tomorrow is a day that fills you more than it empties you.

Literarily yours,

Elle

Leave a Reply

