5.11.14 Getting to Know ME!

IMG_3691

 

So – honest answer … if you weren’t you, would you be friends with yourself?  I think this is an interesting question to consider and I’d like to say, “For sure! I’m a good time,” but then I realize that sometimes, I’d have to think about it.  Maybe I’d end up being one of those friends who you love, but can only handle in small doses.  Like an overly-frosted cupcake, too much is intense and sickening.  With a big smile, endless conversation and a lot of pep … I don’t always think being around me is what others would call easy.
If we’re going for honesty, then I’ll admit I’m impulsive, I’m insecure, I’m a goody-two-shoes and an overachiever.  In school I was the type of kid who liked the idea of working with people, but when time came right down to it, my real mentality was, “Thank you for helping, now get out of the way so I can do it.”  (It would be lovely to inform you that this part of my character has matured, but truth be known I still love to take the reigns.)  I like to be the first one to respond, the one who puts the finishing touch on or the last word in.  Looking at myself from the outside – I’m rather exhausting come to think of it.  
Sometimes when I’ve got more than a minute to myself I’m beginning to realize how dangerous it can actually be for me.  Usually packed and planned to the wire, I almost don’t know what to do when given an ounce of free time.  Suddenly, when I’m not stretched to the max, I become some wired OCD/ADD combination of crazy.  Like a manic pinball, I dash and crash around my house or job, flitting from one unfinished activity to another.  (Please tell me I’m not alone here!)  My mom and I always laugh and say that we’re lucky the culture-shift of diagnosing labels didn’t come around until after we were in school or we’d be sure to have a litany of letters behind our names.
But you know what?   Whether or not I’d be too much for myself to handle as a friend, I just thank God he found people stronger than me to succeed at the job.  While there are parts of myself I am proud of and happy to discover and grow into, there are definitely less-than-awesome tendencies, habits and quirks that I know would drive me crazy in someone else.  The neat thing is, even confidence-exuding Marilyn Monroe admitted it’s a process, stating, “I am trying to find myself; sometimes that’s not easy.”  I feel like amending the quote to add, “… and sometimes I am trying to lose myself but I find the only thing that slips is my mind!” Ha!  We’ve got to be able to laugh at ourselves right? If you ever have a reaction to what you read, please feel free to leave comments … I’d love to come to a greater state of interaction with my digital friends!  Also, as a 60+ post push for myself, I wanted to ask (if you’ve been enjoying yourself) to please pass https://thisquotablelife.wordpress.com/ on to a friend (or ten)!  I’d love to continue building relationship through readership!
Thank you friends – happy self-discovery of the good, the beautiful and the unexpected. 

 

Literarily yours,
Elle

3 thoughts on “5.11.14 Getting to Know ME!

  1. Fantastic! And NO you’re not alone. My favorite quote that makes me think of myself and the like: “the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” – Jack Keroauc

  2. I like your opening question! I honestly don’t know my answer, but it’s a great thing to ponder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

