8.19.14 Pennies

IMG_5984

Judith Vorist, genius that she is, created a character many years ago named Alexander.  If you’ve been following me for awhile you’ll know that I have introduced him before, when I felt like moving to Australia to escape my problems.  You see, Alexander became famous in his first picture book entitled, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.  So, I’m not having a bad day, and I don’t need to move to Australia, like Alexander wished to, but I am not necessarily having  a good day either.  I have completely lost my affinity for shopping.  Yup.  What does this have to do with Alexander you ask?  Well … a great deal actually. 

You see, Vorist wrote another tale about him called, Alexander Who Used to be Rich Last Sunday.  Now that I can relate to.  I wasn’t exactly “rich” last Sunday, but I was a great deal better off than I am this Tuesday.  And I just have one question … WHY DOES LIFE HAVE TO BE SO EXPENSIVE?!?!?!  Recently, (like in the last week and a half) I swear it has been one expense after another.  First, it was snacks for the road trip to our mini-vacation, then it was groceries for the cabin on the mini-vacation, then it was school supplies for my son, my daughter, and myself.  After this there was the unexpected registration fee for the start of school, then the equally unexpected fee for after care, and, of course, the groceries we needed to fill our now-empty, post-vacation refrigerator!  To top it off, I made the mistake of thinking that my Kindergarten daughter didn’t need uniform clothing until first grade – surprise!  She did!  I figured it out the night before.  Thank God for Old Navy; that’s all I’ve got to say.

I would like to believe Marsha Sinetar who said, “Do what you love and the money will follow.”  I want to believe her, but I must admit I’m still waiting; because I love teaching and being a mom … but it isn’t what I’d call lucrative career choices on either account.  And yet, even here in the midst of daily debt … we are so blessed.  I am actually embarrassed to admit that we make more than the average American family, statistically, have a larger house than average, have a bigger retirement account than projected for our age, but sadly do fall short of the average in terms of debt we have.  I know life comes at us in unexpected ways, but I also know that I’ll have to do better when it comes to this average … and my saving habits.

I love the unknown quote that says, “The best things in life are never rationed.  Friendship. loyalty, love do not require coupons.” Thank heaven for that because I am no coupon-cutter.  So yes, Alexander … I understand your financial troubles, but Benjamin Franklin once said, “A penny saved is a penny earned.”  Somehow he made it onto a hundred dollar bill, so I’m thinking we should listen to him.

Off to my piggy bank now – I found two pennies in my car.  Cha-ching!

Literarily yours,

Elle

 

Leave a Reply

