2.15.15 Your Crazy Isn’t Crazy After All

So this video clip from Apple inspires me, not only because it has nothing to do with technology and everything to do with humanity.  It has to do with inspiring us to remember that expecting more out of this life than it is freely willing to give, does not make us greedy, it makes us resilient.  Because I don’t know about you, but my life has a voracious appetite; most days, it is just waiting to swallow up every one of my dreams with practicality.  But the thing is, I’ve never been practical, I’ve never necessarily done things the “easy way,” and I certainly would deny the very fabric of my being if I started now. 

I would like to blame my parents for this, mostly.  You see, they sort of ruined my chances at being satisfied with “normal” when they refused to tell me that I had to be.  There was never a day in my reckoning that they were not: there for me, believing in me, or cheering me on toward impossible ambitions with an unalterable attitude of “possible.”  So … yes, I blame them.  And I thank them, for allowing me to pursue the wish of becoming one of, “The Crazy Ones,” who just won’t accept that they were meant for ordinary. 

The thing is, knowing this about yourself … that you want to do, and say and be more, well – it’s kind of exhausting, especially when you’re not sure what to do with all you’ve planned.  I kind of joke around that I was born for ideas, and I wish I could just sell them to people who had more time to do with them than I’ve got.  I think, and think, and jot down ideas, and think of more.  My mind is a bit overwhelming at times, and this, I know, most of you can relate to.  Personally, I have come to judge my own brain’s respective fullness by my habits in the shower.  The other morning I realized that I had washed my arms twice, but forgot to shave my left leg.  Let’s just say, it was an exceptionally intense brainstorm and yes, to answer your question, I wore pants that day.  

I guess, for me, there’s no such thing as “starting at the beginning,” because my ambitions look something akin to Sudoku puzzle, the numbers never all line up without an issue.  I wish I had the mentality of journalist Gene Fowler who said,  “Let us then be up and doing, with a heart for any fate; still achieving, still pursuing, learn to labor and to wait.”  It is the last word, the wait that I struggle with.  I often have conversations at God like, “Whenever you’re ready to talk to me, I’m ready to listen.”  But notice the very important preposition choice there – “at” not “to.”  If I were talking “to” God, maybe I’d have a better chance at hearing him, but I’m often too busy with an inner monologue at Him to let His words get very far.  I know this, and yet I cannot always seem to push past my own life’s static to get a clear connection. 

People love to tell you to slow down, to be present in the moment and then clarity will come.  Sometimes I would like to personify my day into a person just to give it a good, stern talking to!  I would like to let it know that it has not done a good job of turning out to be what I planned, and it needs to take into deep consideration, the effect its actions have had on me!  How can I become what I’m meant to be (whatever that is) when life’s got other plans?  If only I’d be content with ordinary. 

When it comes right down to it though, I don’t believe any of us were intended for standard, routine or commonplace.  No one grows up wishing to be conventional or expected.  We all had visions and wishes and plans for more … so why the letting go? If I am being completely transparent with you,  you should know that I’m rather insecure.  I have aspiring and purposeful dreams, yes – but they are not because I actually believed my incredible parents who tried their hardest to instill in me that I was so much more than usual.  I do not really believe in my plan for me, but I do believe in God’s plan for me.  This busy mind and unquenchable spirit of mine have more reason than I usually give them credit for; I think you’re not so different.  

I believe that you might actually have a great deal yet to do with yourself … your gifts … and your potential.  So I am going to end with the quote we started with – just promise me you’ll take a sincere look inside and maybe realize that your “Crazy” isn’t crazy after all.

“Here’s to the crazy ones.  The misfits.  The rebels.  The troublemakers.  The round pegs in the square holes.  The ones who see things differently.  They’re not fond of rules.  And they have no respect for the status quo.  You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them.  About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them.  Because they change things.  They push the human race forward.  And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius.  Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” – Steve Jobs, Apple

Here’s to changing your world; I thank you for continuing to change mine by listening,

Elle 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

