8.1.17 Not With Words

IMG_5809

Not With Words

Sometimes I chase words

like fireflies on summer nights

and they are elusive

but beautiful enough to pursue –

they enchant me

entice me,

and echo, “Come and play”

teasing me into the dark to find them

 

Sometimes words chase me

regardless of the time of day,

how weary I am,

how in need of rest –

they peek-a-boo into my thoughts

subconsciously

tickling my mind toward

something I can’t quite put my finger on

but can’t possibly ignore

 

Like a mirrored merry-go-round,

I see them,

and they see me,

and we spin around one another,

revolving in the sacred place between

almost

and

already there

 

Nevertheless,

I write on …

on the hide-and-seek days,

on the tag-you’re-it days,

on the waking dream,

more or less than you seem,

penned in moon or sunbeam days …

I write on

 

So our games of merry pursuit will continue,

and I will give,

and they will take,

but the magic of meeting always wins in the end,

because there is no end,

there can’t be

not with words

 

2 thoughts on “8.1.17 Not With Words

  1. Raquel, this is perfect and so beautifully written! I completely relate! I, too, find myself chasing words while they hide, and then there they are when I am not ready. But then again, I’m always ready, because you have to be. It’s always worth it. XOXO!

Leave a Reply

